Dramas I’m Watching Spring 2018

I never thought that I’ll be able to update this blog again, work had been extremely busy since October last year and because of that, I decided to reward myself with a 1 week vacay from all those accumulated stress. Initially, I was planning to travel, but due to schedule conflicts with my friends, I ended at home for my vacation so I decided to spend this week binge-watching.

tumblr_inline_p7c3r5Rrbs1udbc8i_540

Enough of that, “Hana Nochi Hare” is probably one of highly anticipated dramas this season, my curiosity was piqued after those screenshots of MatsuJun aka Domyouji rocking it for his cameo. So yeah, I’m a simple woman, I see a glimpse of Domyouji, I watch it. As for that, here’s what I’m watching (and hopefully I’ll be able to finish them) this Spring 2018.

Dd9oEALV4AEN1UH

  • Hana Nochi Hare ~Hanadan Next Season~

I used to love this kind of plot, rich boys fighting over a poor/commoner girl, which is very Cinderella. I thought that I’m over with that kind of thing since it’s so high school but Hana Nochi Hare proved to me that this kind of plot can still be enjoyed no matter what age you are. I guess what I like most from this drama is the twist the author did, the two guys are not friends, they are rivals but it was obvious that only Kaguragi Haruto (Hirano Sho) bears more grudge towards Hase Tenma (Nakagawa Taishi), who happens to be engaged to Edogawa Oto (Sugisaki Hana), our heroine. Four episodes later, I’m still rooting for Haruto but Tenma is so niiiiiice that I’m having some serious case of second lead syndrome. I read the manga and I’m praying to Kamio Yoko to give Tenma his own love story because he really deserves it.

tumblr_p8f0o3FZCX1ujkt8vo1_1280

The three leads are definitely good when it comes to acting. Hirano Sho has gotten better since his SHARK days, better skin too. Nakagawa Taishi has always been a favorite since “Suikyu Yankees” and he’s been consistent, acting-wise. As for Sugisaki Hana, most of her projects that I’ve seen are dramas where she was a guest or in supporting role so Hana Nochi Hare is a refreshing take. As for the C5 aka 2018 version of F4, I hope that the individual characters will have their own arc, so far, it’s Airi (Imada Mio) who have been given her own episode despite the fact that it showcased her crazy side.

tumblr_p988espAMK1ta4ento1_1280

Furthermore, the chemistry between Haruto and Oto and Tenma and Oto is so real that I find myself vying for both of them even though we all know to whom Oto will end up. Oh, let’s not forget the cameos of characters from HanaDan era! That is a must see that even the head maid and head butler were there. Lastly, the OST is a winner and I’m not talking about King and Prince‘s opening theme but Utada Hikaru‘s “Hatsukoi” made fall in love after hearing it for the first time.

9Z_1wMj76lDtHmDhdcLw83tiRcR3ftQ8JAL5Romk2jk

I will definitely make sure to finish this drama, especially now that I’ve read the manga, and there are lots of scenes which I hope will be in live action.

  • Signal ~ Chouki Mikaiketsu Jiken Sousahan

main

I didn’t watch the Korean version so everything is new to me. I’ve always read good reviews about the Korean original but I never watched it because I had bad experiences from watching deka/police Korean dramas due to unnecessary love angles. However, Signal is surprisingly good and different. They really stick to cases and though there’s a love angle, it was not heavily accentuated and the real element of a deka drama is always there. Signal combined two of my favorite genres and that’s suspense/mystery and time-travel.

tumblr_p8fhvshx491qceroko1_r1_1280

I’ve been a fan Sakaguchi Kentaro since “Juhan Shuttai” so I don’t want to be biased or anything but those dimples and his smile are to die for. Although you can’t see much of it here since he seems to be playing serious roles since “Toto Neechan”, his charms is still undeniable. His acting is constantly improving and it shows in this drama, and he blends well with two of his seniors, Kichise Michiko and Kitamura Kazuki, respectively. Kichise and Kitamura are such great actors, they always play their characters so well it doesn’t look like acting at all.

201804_signal3

I don’t know if it’s a good thing or not, but I must be well-rested enough that I know the twist of the story after watching the first two episodes. It sucks but I could still be wrong so I’ll just wait and see.

  • Miss Sherlock

main (1)

I love Takeuchi Ryoko (Sherlock) but this is one drama that I might drop, or maybe not, but I wouldn’t feel loss even if I didn’t see this to the end. The first case was weak, there were lots of loopholes, and weird coincidences. Like the way Sherlock guessed that Wato Tachibana (Kanjiya Shihori) is a Doctor just because she has suture thread hanging on her suitcase rolls eyes. Seriously, her suitcase is huge enough that it’s the kind of suitcase that needs to be checked-in, how did those threads stay there while inflight? Also, why are there even threads on her suitcase? Does she perform emergency suturing with her suitcase beside her? That’s impossible, and it’ll be unsterile for her to use those. Let’s add the fact that the murderer on this first case died under their watch. Sherlock was just sitting pretty when the murderer took the pill bomb, so much for being a genius of deductions and so if she can’t even deduce that the murderer might commit suicide in the same way that she killed people.

DcP3Rz6U8AIHiyg

I don’t know if I have the energy to watch the second episode, Sherlock is too weird for me.

What else?

uMtx7XEYc5k8MCo1q3DI-H9dcLWHV9OYwH8lR6n3R7A

Well, I haven’t seen a single episode of these dramas but their plot is really interesting that I might check them out. First is SPEC ~ SICK’S Jonosho ~ Naikaku Johou Chousashitsu Tokumu Jikou Senjuu-gakari Jikenbo because I love everything SPEC related even though this feature different characters. Second is Monte Cristo Haku ~ Kareinaru Fukushuu and no, it’s not because it stars Dean Fuijoka and Tadayoshi Okura (although it helps), but I’ve read and loved Alexandre Dumas’ Count of Monte Cristo. It was one of the books that I was forced to read for a book report but ended loving it. Last would be “Black Pean“, although Daimon Michiko will always be my favorite TV surgeon, having Ninomiya Kazunari and Takeuchi Ryoma on one screen is not that bad.

That’s all for now, if you have more recommendations, feel free to comment below.