Favorite Japanese High School Dramas

There was a point in time when all I want to watch are high school dramas, I’m just so fascinated with Japanese high school life that it makes my high school life, in a  Catholic school, seem dull in comparison. Recently, there are more movies than dramas being produced about high school life, most shoujo mangas are also adapted into movies than the longer dramas, which is such a shame because I’ll surely enjoy watching these dramas.

Anyway, from yankees to ikemens to ojou-samas, here are my Top 5 Favorite Japanese High School Dramas that will let you relive your high school days: 

  • Gokusen 1
tumblr_mfva5wnc7e1r3l2ipo8_r1_250
(c)otp-of-otps

The first Gokusen will always be close to my heart since I’m a fan of the anime before I’ve seen the live version. Yankumi’s (Nakama Yukie) first class is spearheaded by the genius Sawada Shin (Matsumoto Jun) and this where some of the most notable actors today have started, like Oguri Shun, Matsuyama Kenichi, and Narimiya Hiroki. Sure enough, they did more fighting than actual studying, but this drama is so funny that I’ll just ignore the silly things. It’s such a shame that Shin wasn’t in the movie because I was looking forward for the production to follow the manga and give Shin and Yankumi a romantic story.

  • Hana Kimi (2007)
tumblr_inline_n2lsgqlpbr1s4o9cd
(c)not another asian drama

More than the love story between Mizuki (Horikita Maki) and Sano (Oguri Shun), what I love most about Hana Kimi is the battle between the three dorms. It was so foolish but very memorable, and since I’m biased, I was always rooting for Dorm 2. In every high school drama, I’m always looking forward to school festival and Osaka High’s school festival didn’t disappoint since they did the usual thingy, which is the Maid Cafe and had the boys dress-up as maids.

  • Yankee-kun to Megane-chan
tumblr_lld1s1jeov1qk2j4mo1_500
(c)yankeetomegane

I’ve read the manga before I saw the live version and I was blown away with the acting and chemistry of Narimiya Hiroki and Naka Riisa. They really nailed the role and this drama shows a well-executed high school life starting from a  former delinquent to a current delinquent (yankee) who is forced to join the student council. There’s also the struggle about exams and love to spice-up this drama.

  • Asuko March! 
tumblr_lmdn85ustc1qfakbgo1_500
(c)paper-box

If you’re one of Takei Emi‘s hater then don’t watch this but you’ll also be missing Matsuzaka Tori and Kaku Kento. This drama shows a different high school life since our heroine found herself, by mistake, in a technical school. Aside from finding herself as the only girl in her class, she also has to attend technical classes that includes welding and the like. Even though Matsuzaka was oozing with sex appeal right from the first episode, I just wanted Takei to be with Kaku, this is one of those dramas where I had a serious second-lead syndrome.

  • Gomen ne Seishun
tumblr_ng8erpjlbd1r5j0vto1_500
(c)eitow

It’s always girls vs boys in this drama with the boys getting a bit of beating since the girls has the upper hand in the brains department. Nevertheless, the boys are charming enough to get the girls to fall for them. This high school drama is well-played out that more than the regrets of Heisuke (Nishikido Ryo) with his own high school life, the growth of the students in their first-ever combined class is a must-see.

That’s my Top 5 favorite high school dramas and here are my runners-up:

  • Hana Yori Dango – I love HYD but I wouldn’t really classify this as a high school drama since its mostly a love story.
  • Dragon Zakura – A high school drama where the students actually study and they really should if they are aiming for Tokyo University.
  • My Boss My Hero– One of the funniest and one of my favorite. Just like HYD, I wouldn’t really classify this as a high school drama but I guess it borders that genre.
tumblr_o09532dy0e1qj2ep9o3_250
(c)sakuranamida
3 thoughts on “Favorite Japanese High School Dramas

  1. I liked HanaKimi and Yankee-kun to Megane-chan. Currently watching Gokusen 1. Gomen ne Seishun is in my list since a long time. Hopefully,I will complete it by end of November.

    Have decided not to watch Takei Emi’s drama/movie anymore. Couldn’t tolerate her bad acting in one of her drama,I tried watching.

    Have watched Hana Yori Dango and My Boss My Hero. They are good.

    Thanks for this list!
    High School dramas are an important genre in the world of J Dramas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve watched nearly everything mentioned except Asuko March and Gomen ne Seishun surprisingly… I will put those in my to-watch list! I’m so behind in jdramas as I’ve only started picking it up again recently.

    Like

Share your thoughts!

